January 1st not only brought in a new year but also more pay for Michigan workers.

The state's minimum wage will be officially at $9.45/hr... 20¢ higher than what it was in 2018. According to UpNorthLive this is part of a law, signed by Governor Snyder, that will slowly increase the minimum wage to $12.05 by 2030.

As for servers, or tipped workers, minimum wage went up by only 8¢ to $3.60. The 12-cent difference will remain as wages increases through over the years.

Michigan is one of 30 states [including D.C.] who's minimum wage is higher than the federal's, which has been at $7.25/hr for the past 8 years (Detroit Free Press).

Department of Labor
Department of Labor

More From 100.7 WITL