How Illegal is it to ‘Get Frisky’ in Your Car in Michigan?
I haven't thought about "getting frisky" in the car in years, maybe because I'm dang near 50 and any thoughts that I have about intimacy usually involve thoughts like "hey, will I pull something if I do it like that?".
When I was young, I'm talking teen years, I made out in my car with my girlfriend. Just like you and your significant other. Although I am 5'6" and I drove a Honda, there was plenty of room for the two of us, "getting frisky" usually tapped out with steamy windows and a change of venue.
Sometimes it's hard to control ourselves. When you are so incredibly attracted to that person that you can't keep you hands off each other, spontaneous intimacy happens. Is it legal to have "intimacy" in your vehicle in the state of Michigan?
Keep It In Your Pants
So, your car is private property and Nicole Blank Becker says:
It is not against the law to have sex in a car in Michigan. Your vehicle is considered private property, and the law gives you freedom over your possessions. However, you may be charged with an offense where your conduct flouts societal standards, such as rules against public indecency.
According to the Criminal Defense Law Center West Michigan:
It is illegal to have sex in a public place in Michigan. If you are caught having sex in a public place you can be charged with Gross Indecency. This crime is nothing to laugh at as it is a felony charge that carries with it up to five years in prison.
Here's the law:
MCL 750.338b: Any male person who, in public or in private, commits or is a party to the commission of any act of gross indecency with a female person shall be guilty of a felony, punishable as provided in this section. Any female person who, in public or in private, commits or is a party to the commission of any act of gross indecency with a male person shall be guilty of a felony punishable as provided in this section. Any person who procures or attempts to procure the commission of any act of gross indecency by and between any male person and any female person shall be guilty of a felony punishable as provided in this section. Any person convicted of a felony as provided in this section shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for not more than 5 years, or by a fine of not more than $2,500.00, or if such person was at the time of the said offense a sexually delinquent person, may be punishable by imprisonment in the state prison for an indeterminate term, the minimum of which shall be 1 day and the maximum of which shall be life.
I'm not the brightest star in the sky but I also know that common sense can go a long way. If you think "getting it on" in the car is a good idea, you could be looking at some serious jail time. Not to mention, if you are my age, what are you thinking? Wait the extra time to get home so you can avoid serious charges. Is it illegal, no, but when it becomes public indecency, that's where you can get screwed.